PSN Update 3.61 announced on Playstation blog today; fix includes login reset

PSN Update to version 3.61 announced on Playstation blog today

Today Sony released a new update for the PS3 system software on it’s Playstation blog, in a bid to return the PSN to working functionality again.

This news comes from the official Sony PlayStation blog on Saturday May 14th. The latest post notes that all PS3 users are urged to complete this latest software update, version 3.61. Part of this update will include resetting login information of username and password. This was something Sony mentioned during its press conference several weeks ago as an imperative step to provide better security for all users in the future.

Some will receive an email with a link to change their account. “If you have never downloaded any content using your account on the system, an email will be sent to the registered sign-in ID associated with your account when you first attempt to sign-in to PSN,” Sony said in a statement Saturday May 14th 2011.

Not everything will be back online immediately but in phases, and the first phase of the PSN restoration has been launched in various regions of the world. Phase 1 will include the following:

  • Account password change
  • Sign-in for PlayStation Network and Qriocity services
  • Online gameplay for PS3 and PSP
  • Music Unlimited
  • Netflix, Hulu, Vudu, MLB.TV
  • Friends’ list, chat, trophy comparison and PlayStation home

Things are running smoothly internally and testing is being done by Sony. As of now, Sony hasn’t posted a new status update, but with a week full of testing now concluded, things look like they may be getting back online in the, hopefully near future.

Some users have stated that they cannot yet access the network, however many have been able to access it and even start playing games on-line, Sony have promised to keep updating their system until they ensure that all their users are not only able to access the PSN, but be able to access it safely.

According to Playstation blog, the new PS3 system software update that requires all PSN users to change their password once PlayStation Network is restored. Once you log in through your PS3 account, the PSN update (v3.61) should be visible and it is mandatory and accept the user’s new agreement.

Sony has been working behind the scenes to strengthen its overall security following the cyber intrusion which occurred between April 17th and 19th, 2011. The PlayStation Network was taken down by the company on the 20th, and for weeks gamers have waited in anticipation of getting the service back. While most games can be played offline, many users enjoy the online multiplayer environments and additional content available. With the news of this update, it’s a great big step towards getting the network restored for all involved.

Sharing is caring

Add to Flipboard Magazine.

You may also like...